Weird Assignment in School!

These days, I am in my hometown on a short vacation. Yesterday, while visiting my grand-father (in-law)’s place, I happened to look into the school books and school diary of my cousin who is in 5th grade. He studies in D.A.V. Public School, Anisabad branch. Let me tell you that DAV comes into the best schools in the city and this particular branch “used” to be very good for primary education. I studied there in my childhood.

Anways, so while asking him  about what all he learned on Friday in School, he was telling me what happened in each class. Then I asked him about the homework. On which, I was shocked when he told me what was his homework in Sanskrit! The Sanskrit teacher has asked the students to “draw the picture present in the book of a specified lesson”. Now this is shocking as it shows the absurdity of the teacher in giving assignments. I am also forced to question his ability to teach the students. I am seriously not able to understand how drawing a picture (and that is also a complex one which has crow, trees and something else) is related to learning Sanskrit! Maybe, this absurd and idiotic assignment idea came to the teacher as they MUST give something to the students in homework every day. But still, how come you ask students to draw pictures in Sanskrit or English or Hindi class? Isn’t that supposed to be work of the drwaing or arts teacher? What are they giving in the homework – are they asking students to learn a poem and then recite it in the drawing class?

These things raise serious questions on how teachers are assessed by the school authorities. I am not sure if they are even assessed. But, today when parents are paying huge amount of fee to the schools and sending their kids to good schools, thinking that they might learn better, there’s something else which is going on. In India, there should be a district education council type of body which should time and again assess schools and all teachers. The process may be cumbersome and lengthy but it must be incorporated. The body should be given authority over all schools – public as well as private. It is the responsibility of the government to make sure that private schools are complying and are imparting proper education and values to the students who are attending those schools. Being privately funded does not mean that a school can do whatever it wants to!

Education is still a serious issue which needs more attention from the central and state government.

Leave a Reply

